Protein Shakes for Vegetarians

Protein shakes are healthy and quick ways to boost your protein intake.

Protein shakes are healthy and quick ways to boost your protein intake.

If you are a vegetarian, you are probably used to the question, “How do you get enough protein?” Although a number of plant-based foods contain protein, animal products are often the best sources. In addition to meat, different vegetarian diets may also exclude seafood, dairy and eggs. If you are worried about your protein intake, you can add vegetarian protein shakes to your diet.

Whey Protein Shakes

Whey powder, a type of dairy protein, is a common ingredient in protein shakes. Lacto and lacto-ovo vegetarians consume dairy products and can use this type of protein in their shakes. Whey protein is produced as a by-product when cow's milk is turned into cheese. It is a high-quality protein supplement that you can simply mix with skim milk or water along with your favorite fresh or frozen fruits. Whey protein is available in different flavors and types.

Egg Protein Shakes

Eggs are among the best sources of protein. Eggs are also a complete protein, meaning they contain all of the essential amino acids. Your body can easily absorb the protein found in eggs. Made from egg whites only, egg powder is fat-free. Lacto-ovo vegetarians consume eggs and may include egg powder in their vegetarian protein shake. However, people with any type of egg allergy should avoid egg powder. Add egg powder along with fruit, milk and any other ingredients to make your protein shake.

Soy Protein Shakes

For vegans, who are vegetarians who do not eat meat, dairy or eggs, soy protein powder is an appropriate option for their vegetarian protein shakes. Soy contains isoflavones, specific types of phytochemicals that offer a number of health benefits. Eating a diet high in soy may reduce the risk of heart disease and even prevent certain types of cancer. Similar to whey protein, soy powder comes in various flavors. To make a soy protein shake, add soy powder with soymilk and fruit.

Rice Powder Protein Shake

Made from brown rice, rice protein is a complete protein because it contains all the essential amino acids. Any vegetarian can add rice protein to their shakes. This type of protein is hypoallergenic and does not contain dairy or eggs, thus making it suitable for even vegans. Although some people do not like the texture or taste of brown rice protein powder, adding this powder to protein shakes usually helps to disguise the taste. Mix the rice protein powder with water or soymilk and fruits, vegetables or any other ingredients for your protein shake.

 

About the Author

Ireland Wolfe has been writing professionally since 2009, contributing to Toonari Post, Africana Online and Winzer Insurance. She obtained her Bachelor of Arts in psychology and Master of Arts in mental health counseling. She is also a licensed mental health counselor, registered nutritionist and yoga teacher.

Photo Credits

  • Liquidlibrary/liquidlibrary/Getty Images