States Which Recognize the National EMT Certification

National EMT certification can help you get a job in many states.
i Jupiterimages/ Images

The National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians certifies and registers individuals who have successfully completed a training program and passed the organization’s exams. It offers five types of certification, based on the individual’s level of training. These are Emergency Medical Responder, EMT Basic, Advanced EMT, EMT Intermediate and EMT Paramedic. These certifications are the first step toward obtaining a license in the states that recognize them.

NREMT Participating States

    As of 2013, 47 of the 50 states accept national EMT certification for eligible candidates. The exceptions are New York, North Carolina and Wyoming. The participating states have varying acceptance levels for national certification. For instance, some states require national certification for every EMT level of accomplishment, while others require it only for one or two. Some states give candidates the option of taking the state's exams or the national certification.

Requirements for Certification

    The NREMT has various eligibility requirements for the certification exams. Candidates should be at least 18 years old and have completed a state-approved program for the level of certification they need. The program director must verify this on NREMT’s website. Candidates also need to have CPR credentials, which the program director must verify, too. Individuals who need higher-level certifications should first obtain lower-level certifications.

Certification in Non-participating States

    New York, North Carolina and Wyoming have independent systems for testing candidates for certification. Though each of these states has unique specifications, the requirements for eligibility are similar to those of the NREMT certification exams. The three states emphasize completion of a training program, CPR training and verification from a program director.

EMT Certificate Reciprocity

    Candidates with national certification can use it to obtain a license in states where it is accepted. In non-participating states, reciprocity is possible only if the candidate has certification from another state. Individuals who are nationally certified must satisfy additional requirements in the states where it isn’t recognized. For instance, in New York, the professional must use the national credential to apply to take a refresher course and, subsequently, the state’s exam.

the nest