How to Find Federal Employee Salaries

Federal employees are compensated on a pay scale overseen by the federal government. The employees include judges, lawyers, postal workers, Department of Transportation workers, Department of Agriculture workers and more. Each federal employee is assigned a pay grade, ranging from GS-1 to GS-15. Executive positions are assigned levels. A simple protocol is in place to quickly determine the salary for any federal employee. This information can be helpful when determining the career path you wish to take.

    Step 1

    Visit the official website for the U.S. Office of Personnel Management,

    Step 2

    Click the “View Salaries & Wages" link.

    Step 3

    Click the “General Schedule & Locality Pay Tables” link if you want to view salary information for specific states and regions. Otherwise, click the pay link that is relevant to the job. Each pay table opens as a downloadable PDF file.

    Step 4

    Click the annual pay chart to view annual salary information. The hourly chart breaks the salary down into the equivalent hourly pay.

    Step 5

    Locate the individual's current pay grade on the chart. The pay grade indicates his current federal employee job rank. Once you locate the pay grade, locate the corresponding wage increase "step" to determine current salary.

    Each pay grade has 10 steps. The steps represent the number of times the individual has received a wage increase while holding the same grade level. As an example, a GS-1 employee who has received three wage increases as a GS-1 -- Step 3 -- earns $18,990 per year.

    Things You'll Need

    • Pay grade

the nest